Is Farro (emmer wheat) Gluten Free or Not?

W;So the question goes is Farro (emmer Wheat) Gluten Free or not?  I have been reading article after article on this topic; I have purchased many different brands some are labeled Gluten Free the others aren’t.  In my research I have found, that it’s true name is Emmer Wheat originally grown in Egypt, it eventually migrated to Europe the Italian’s named it Farro due to it pearl shape grains.   Being that this whole grain  grows in horrible soil and is still able to thrive and  grow.

Some of the  great things that Farro brings  to the table it is naturally high in Fiber  and nutrients and due to growing conditions  this has a whopping 17-19% protein. It is a very hardy grain with a full nutty flavor.

Is it Gluten Free?  No It’s Not!  Though it has a lesser amount of gluten then wheat has, which makes it is easily digested by the human body than most other forms of wheat, if you have a relatively mild gluten sensitivity you maybe able to tolerate Farro, those whom have an sever allergy to gluten you should stay away from it.  I hope I was able to shed some light on the subject; if you are thinking about giving it a try, be safe and always talk to your doctor before you try something new.

Farro is a very versatile grain it can be used in a salad and soups as a side.

About culinaryfusion

Certified Health Coach a real Foodie at heart, Menu planners, Kitchen Counselor, Gluten Free,Bringing families back to the kitchen table one recipe at a time. Health Coach guiding clients with a gentle hand to reach optimum health, fast safe and simple.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Is Farro (emmer wheat) Gluten Free or Not?

  1. Lisa W-W says:

    Very informative! Thank you. I have just been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity and am looking for grains which I might be able to eat.

  2. marysparacinobortel says:

    Thanks…I was trying to figure that out!

  3. sharon says:

    Hi: I’ve worked with heritage wheat for 25 years (www.grassrootsolutions.com). The current interest in hulled wheats like emmer and einkorn is great because these may be lower in phytic acid and easier for mammals to digest. But these species of wheat will have many varieties and the varieties will be different in their proteins year to year and field to field. As proteins comprise gluten and other compounds in grain it’s not logical to generalize that ‘emmer’ is easier to digest. Terroir, the interaction of the genetics of the grain and the growing conditions and weather affect the end products in the grain.
    In Italy farro can be emmer, einkorn or spelt or a combo of the various grains. The ‘farro’ is ddiferent field to field and village to village. Sharon

  4. Tim says:

    Is farro gluten free?

    • No it is not, It has a lower gluten level some maybe able to tolerate it If you are a Celiac I don’t recommend it. It’s always good to check with your doctor first before trying new foods.

  5. dimitra says:

    Is Farro the ancient Greek zeia?that they use to make bread and pasta instead the regular wheat?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s